HOTEL REVIEWS

Read what previous guests have to say about us. Below are guest comments that have been collected via Email, TripAdvisor, Safarinow and SA Places.

TRIPADVISOR

EMAIL


Dear Jackie, Richard, Erica, Mandy and all the staff

You beat me to it – I was going to write to say how much we enjoyed our week with you – it was everything we hoped it would be and really was the perfect spot for our family gathering. The children are already asking when can we go again! The weather didn’t really hamper us and certainly didn’t stop the children swimming and doing all those fun things.

I think you have done such a great job in keeping the hotel a real family hotel while at the same time having such stylish and comfortable rooms and incredible food – your chef is to be complimented.

With warm regards from all of us and we look forward to coming back one day soon.
Mary and Doug
24 April 2017




Dear Morgan Bay Team

Thank you for the service, the fun, the relaxing times, the activities and most of all the memories we now have created by visiting your beautiful and perfectly run hotel.

We will be back

Cheers,
Alice, Ben, Charlotte and Greg
12 April 2017




Hi Erica,

We all had the best holiday and have returned home relaxed and happy - and determined to return to MB one day soon. Thank you for all you did to create such a relaxing and welcoming environment where all our needs were more than catered for. The meals were excellent and every mouthful thoroughly enjoyed and loved the luxury of not having to cook for a week. All in all it created a special memory which is what I had hoped for.

My Dad, John Suggit, says he knows the Warren-Smith family and remembers them from Grahamstown. He is 95 years old and has a phenomenal memory but although he says he knows Richard he may be referring to another member of the family.

Warmest regards and blessings,
Liz
11 April 2017




I just wanted to thank you and the team again for all the great service we’ve received at the hotel during our stay. Your support during my efforts to secure the ring was fantastic, my stress levels actually dropped because of you!!

Also please thank Jackie again for all her efforts in making our day so special with the cheese platter and Champagne and all of that on very short notice. I really appreciate it!!!

I will also not forget the incredible food we’ve been served during our stay. It compares with the best in the world!!! Keep doing what you are doing!!!

We will be back soon!!

Best wishes,
Marko
25 November 2016




Just a little note from our hearts....

Thank you VERY much for all your kindness and smiles and lovely hearts! Our stay was the most enjoyable few days of the year!!

And the surprize engagement, and your help with the ring and the food, it was out of this world - fabulous!!

Thank you SO much!!

Take good care of you en hope to see you very soon!!

Marelize and Frik, Margeret and Marko!!

Love you all!!

xxxxx

Margeret
25 November 2016




Hi Erica,

I am sorry it has taken me so long to write this but I didn’t want to rush it. I am sure all your guests absolutely gush about how wonderful their stays are… this is another one of those

As you know, I started planning this trip over 3 years ago when my aunt was still alive but suffering from cancer and my gran (whilst being amazing) was getting older and had injured her leg so was feeling a bit down – I wanted to give them both something to live for. In addition to that, we have a very close family... my grandfather being an anaesthetist in Harare and his brother owning a very successful farm about an hour outside of Harare meant that throughout the years, there have been plenty of family gatherings between both their families on the farm and in Harare. With the drama in Zimbabwe, the farms were lost and most of the family was dispersed throughout the world ... UK, Australia, Dubai, USA, Tanzania, Uganda, Malawi, Cape Town & Jhb... So needless to say, as families got bigger, there were fewer opportunities for us all to be together with the cost of traveling etc… Morgan Bay Hotel gave us the perfect combination of being in the same place but also having the flexibility to do our own thing plus the link to my gran’s youth as she grew up in Butterworth (on another note, she drove via Queenstown on the way home to see the school where she was head girl in the 1940s). In addition to all this… my one aunt refuses to go back to Zim as she is too emotional about it and the other hardly ever comes to South Africa so having the opportunity to have them all together was so special.

So, that was the background, while we didn’t get everyone together, we got at least half the family. It was such an amazing few days, as you have heard repeatedly from everyone who was there and I am now getting pressure to plan another one so that the guys who missed out can join us next time. The personal attention and care from you and the whole team there was exceptional, considering I work in high end tourism, you know that is very high praise. Nevermind the hotel itself, the food (thank heavens we only had 4 days, not sure any diet would have brought us back from the amount of food we ate otherwise), the staff (especially managing us in the dining room), the personal notes etc and then going the extra mile for my cousins to join us on the last night (as well as kindly overlooking their presence in the bar with us each night) – really it was one of the best holidays any of us have ever had! As with any family, we don’t all always get on, but we did that week purely thanks to how easy everything was and how ideal the location was. I really have run out of words except to say thank you thank you thank you for all your help and work on our booking, we hope to be back and my husband and I will definitely continue with our annual walk from the house in Haga Haga to Morgan Bay for lunch when we come down on holiday. Morgan Bay Hotel really has given us the most special gift... Such wonderful family members which we will cherish for a long time.

Thanks,
Carli
04 August 2016

P.S. My gran had such fun, she thinks she might just fly herself down to you for a few days sometime and book the same room ;) she stayed last when she did the wildcoast meander and has been dreaming of coming back for a proper stay, she honestly had the most wonderful time reminiscing and enjoying being there, thank you.




Dear Jackie

As the dust begins to settle and we are back home getting into the swing of married life, I just wanted to take some time to write an email to say thank you.

Our wedding was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! I cannot begin to even start explaining how totally thrilled we are. People have been talking about it for days. And Craig is just over the moon.

The food was magnificent. From the canape's to the mains, etc. Everything was scrumptious and presented beautifully. The soup idea worked really well!!!

Your (your sister's?) bar staff were really on top of things, and the one gentleman (I never got his name - but he may have been in charge- he was in slightly different clothing to the others) was so wonderful. He knew exactly what was going on at all times and came to make sure we were happy on more than one occasion. My only regret is that I couldn't find him on Sunday -because I know he wanted some of the leftover ice-cream!

The lady greeting us at reception was very helpful and allowed us to check in earlier and made sure everyone was comfortable. Everyone at the Deck were so friendly and so calm (which helped calm me down!!) and the pizza served on Friday went down so well.

I am so glad that Craig decided to have our wedding at Morgan's Bay - and while it was a tad stressful planning a destination wedding - it was all worth it in the end.

So many guests have said they will be back :)

Many many thanks,
Melanie
07 July 2016




Dear Jackie, Richard, Erica and Mandy and the chefs,

All 8 of us thoroughly enjoyed the 5 days that we spent with you at Morgan Bay. Thank you for the delicious carrot cake that you made for Craig's birthday, Jackie. Thank you to the chefs for great breakfasts and most enjoyable dinners. And then when I got to paying there was the happy surprise me of having one day free! So a good time was had by all, we hope to visit again sometime in the future.

With our love and best wishes,
Marilyn Brink
06 July 2016




Hi Richard and Jackie

Thanks for an amazing week and family reunion venue. We had a very special time and it was the best spot. The food was amazing and the service fantastic. Sorry we missed u to say good bye.

Cheers
The Khoury's
11 January 2016




Dear Erica and hotel staff

Hope you well .

A quick note to say thank you for your hard work and friendliness to us all the time. It was honestly the best hotel hands down that we have ever stayed in. The food was exceptional I have requested that Jackie publish a recipe book !!! Please extend our gratitude and thanks to all that worked so hard to make the reunion so memorable .

We will be back to visit one day.
Marie
11 January 2016




To all our Morgan Bay Hotel friends and especially Erica, thanks so much for our most wonderful stay mid-December. We had such an incredible time with you and have been raving about your beautiful place ever since! The moment we walked in to the hotel on our arrival we felt a part of your family and your hospitality was incredible! Thank-you for making us feel so at home and we can’t wait for the end of the year to be able to come again!

Here’s to a fabulous 2016 year for you all!

Warmest wishes
Jules Fearnhead
11 January 2016

SAFARINOW

Average Guest Rating: (4.3 out of 5)

Reviewed by Drieka Griessel from South Africa on 3 July 2016.

Excellent service, the most beautiful view, divine food, child friendly and friendly staff.They go out of their way to make every guest special.We will definitely go back and recommend the hotel with confidence. Everything was perfect!!!!

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Dennis Weeden from South Africa on 12 March 2015.

We could not fault this establishment. Every aspect was ideal. The accommodation was comfortable and functional, the menu was inventive and the food just right. The staff and management were friendly and welcoming. The location and views superb. This is one place we were sorry to leave.

Rating: 3 Star Rating

Reviewed by Belinda Lewis from South Africa on 9 September 2014.

The Morgan Bay Hotel is a quaint, charming hotel set on some of the most beautiful unspoilt coastline I've ever seen. The view from our balcony was sea, beaches and coves as far as the eye could see. The food is fantastic, the staff super attentive. Everyone we met was friendly (from hotel staff, to locals and even local dogs). We wished that we'd stayed longer and on our way out we were already planning our next stay there.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

SA PLACES

Average Guest Rating: (4.5 out of 5)

Reviewed by Victoria Ntombomzi Macala from South Africa on 22 July 2014.

The establishment is very homely and relaxed, excellent for kids, my grandson was not ready to go home after our two-day stay at the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and the linen is classy, (the bathrooms do need a little upgrade though). Food is also very good . We really enjoyed our stay.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by vicky large from United Kingdom on 3 May 2014.

Fabulous location and we really liked the personal touch with the daily menus. The food was very good and imaginative. Erica was extremely helpful with suggestions of where to go in the rain!So do try and get to the fossil bed at Double Mouth. Would definitely recommend this hotel for both couples and families

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by stephanie hibbert from South Africa on 17 February 2014.

We thank you for the wonderful time we shared at your establishment, very relaxing. The hotel room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The meals were delicious and satisfying, your staff all round were excellent with their service. A memorable stay and wish to return in the future

Kind regards, Tom & Stephanie

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Ceri Yammin from South Africa on 7 July 2012.

Lovely family hotel where children are welcomed and cared for.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by Trevor Steinke from South Africa on 25 May 2012.

The hotel and the service we received were difficult to fault. Highly recommended.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Johann Rowan from United Kingdom on 20 January 2012.

We found the receptionist very friendly and helpful, we loved the room and balcony to be able to enjoy the view. My wife loved the welcome we received through the menu, lovely idea. Just a pity we were only travelling through and could not stay for a few days. If you could do something about the wind, that would be nice. Thank you for making our visit to your hotel so warm and welcoming.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by Cynthia Myers from South Africa on 10 October 2011.

We had the most wonderful night at your Hotel and just wish that we could have stayed longer. I had friends with me from Australia and they also had the best time. The Food, Staff, Management , Rooms and situation could not have been improved on. Thanks so much for everything. PS It was a great place to spend my MAJOR Birthday !!!

Cynthia Myers

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Brian Rogers from South Africa on 8 May 2011.

This was my third stay at Morgan Bay and my wife and I enjoy the Hotel immensely. Our room was fantastic, the dinner and breakfast outstanding and the staff well trained and friendly. The walk to the lighthouse and back is great for working up a thirst and an appetite.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by karen sherlock from South Africa on 28 April 2011.

The situation is excellent, drinks and food are reasonably priced, it just would have been nice to have a bit more of a selection at lunchtime - there was lots of fried food. The hosts could not have been more accomodating or welcoming. We loved it.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by Rossouw from South Africa on 24 December 2010.

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Even though we ourself don't have children the hordes of children did not bother us at all! Lots for them to do! Really laid back and relaxing and I think especially a family hotel!

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Carolyn Norrie from Australia on 21 December 2010.

Friendly, good food, ideal location overlooking the beach. The owners have paid a lot of attention to detail, with attractive decor and good children's facilities to create a place that attracts families year after year.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Rev Peter Storey from South Africa on 13 September 2010.

What a wonderful experience this was! We felt most welcome and cared for. All the staff were most kind and obliging. One felt they had all been trained in hospitality and felt they shared in the tenor of the service. The printed menu and bulletin each morning and evening meant one was kept in touch with who had arrived at the hotel, the tides and weather for the day, and each person was warmly welcomed. Everything about our experience was good - the meals, the comfort of the beds and room and the walks along the beach, rocks and whole area.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Alison Berrisford from South Africa on 3 August 2010.

Lovely setting and very comfortable. Food varied from delicious (tomato and mozarella tartlet, cherry crumble, kabeljou thermidor) to ordinary (chicken shnitzel). We may well visit again.

Rating: 3 Star Rating

Reviewed by Mike van den Berg from South Africa on 1 March 2010.

Friendly staff, great location and excellent food.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Bernadette Emslie from South Africa on 1 March 2010.

A wonderful holiday destination for a family.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by George Groves from South Africa on 28 February 2010.

Old fashioned Country Hotel - serving tea & cookies 2 x per day! Great! Really hospitable and on the beach. Food really good. Great value for money.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by Thomas Stanley van den Heever from South Africa on 11 January 2010.

The personal touch on the menu was something special.

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by J A Malan from South Africa on 6 January 2010.

Excellent value and friendly homely atmosphere.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Brad Hoffmann from South Africa on 5 January 2010.

To begin with I made a mistake with my booking date and was still in the Transkei when I should have been in Morgan Bay! The next day when I called them they said not to worry, I should still come, they had a room, and did not charge me extra! The place is lovely, friendly and perfect for kids. After "kiddies dinner" they are whisked off for some kind of activity, allowing the grown-ups time to play. The food is great, and there are plenty of activities to choose from. I will definitely be back!

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Frances Meyer from South Africa on 3 November 2009.

The hotel is just too amazing and we can't wait to visit again.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Liana Steenkamp from South Africa on 30 August 2009.

Wonderful setting; friendly service at front desk, bar and dining room; good food and wine list better than most comparable hotels!

Rating: 4 Star Rating

Reviewed by Mark Wilson from South Africa on 28 April 2009.

A great place to get away from everything and reconnect with your family.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Malcolm Ayres from South Africa on 14 February 2009.

Friendly and welcoming.

Rating: 5 Star Rating

Reviewed by Alison Kleyn from South Africa on 8 June 2008.

Owners presence always obvious. Very friendly & efficient. Lovely room and good food.

Rating: 5 Star Rating